Brews to Babies

Last year at this time I was getting ready to do this:

I was running a 4-mile leg of a 44-mile race from Kansas City to Lawrence with a group of friends. It was raining, snowing, and generally awful and I had on so many clothes I could hardly get my legs to move. It was great and we had an awesome time.

Especially because there was an auditorium full of Free State beer, food, and tired, drunk runners at the end of it.

Yes, Zach was there. No he did not run, and yes he drank more than his share of our beer.

One of our friends couldn’t run last year because she was busy growing a little baby boy. This year she is in and I’m out to grow my own baby boy. I’m disappointed to not get to run this year because it was such a great time and the weather looks like it will be much better. But Zach and I won’t be totally left out. We are going to go meet the team at the end again and Zach will help them drink their beer. We also will be returning this little man to his runner parents:

His parents have entrusted us to watch him while they run. Maybe this little guy can give us some good pointers on how to raise such a stinkin’ cute little boy.

I don’t know if you can call it an epidemic or even a pattern yet, but apparently if you are female and part of our Brew to Brew team you are in danger of missing the yearly event to grow a baby boy.

I can’t wait to be back on the team next year, or to see who will be carrying on the team tradition…

2 thoughts on “Brews to Babies

Leave a Reply

