Friday Photos.

No belly photo today, but some other pictures from our Friday. When you are the one with the camera it is hard to get photos of yourself.

Anyway, remember the rose bush I won?

It’s in bloom! We’ve had so much rain that I haven’t been able to get out with the camera until now, but the rain has probably been great for the roses.

Next on to dinner.

A friend and I joined a local CSA – Community Supported Agriculture – this year. We are splitting the weekly loot of produce and dragging our husbands along on a journey of fresh veggies, herbs, and fruit. Rolling Prairie Farmer’s Alliance is  a vegetable cooperative with farmers in Kansas.  Our first bag of veggies included radishes, mushrooms, green onions and three kinds of lettuce. I wasn’t really sure what to do with the fresh goodies so I made a salad.

I mixed the varieties of lettuce, diced some green onions and radishes, and then added some grilled chicken, freshly grated Parmesan, and made some dressing with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper, and lemon juice. According to Zach it was the best meal I had ever made. Well….I don’t know that I made much of it so much as arranged some food in a bowl. But, my favorite chef Giada says this is in fact cooking and a way to build confidence in the kitchen.  Either way I’m glad Zach enjoyed it and that we are starting out well with eating our veggies.

On to the after dinner entertainment.

To end the evening we went to the drive-in with our friends. I haven’t been to a drive-in since I was wearing footed pajamas and asleep before the movie started.

This place is not too far from us and the same man has been operating it for 50 years.We had a blast. We set up the back of our friend’s truck and snuggled in with blankets and snacks.

We saw Iron Man 2, which was the right kind of movie to watch outside on a giant screen. There were little kids everywhere who quickly settled in as the movie started. Two little boys were set up on top of their mini van in sleeping bags and when they moved around we could see their heads on the bottom of the screen. It was funny and exactly what should happen at a drive-in.  The late movie was Nightmare on Elm Street which we didn’t stay for, but I think we will be returning again soon.

2 thoughts on “Friday Photos.

  1. Pretty rose bush but your salad looks even better. WordPress tagged your blog for me because you mentioned community supported agriculture. I’ve been doing it for quite a few years and really love it. By the way, I also saw your belly photo and as one who also has a long torso, you’ll carry your pregnancy really well. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

