Eating is awesome.

So after my last post about joining a CSA one of my favorite blogs, Lifehacker had a post about making the most of your CSA!  It is nice when things in your life align. My biggest concern going in to this was finding a way to eat  all our goods before they spoiled. Having a buddy to split the produce with and planning ahead are going to be key. I am excited to try freezing some things later on and getting a jump on some baby food! But I’m only in week one so I need to try to stay focused on the present goal:  making new meals with lettuce and radishes.

Saturday afternoon I made lunch with more of our veggies from the CSA. I got a cookbook to go along with our membership which has not only given me recipe ideas, but been helpful in identifying some of the items and in listing the simplest way to prepare each veggie. I modified a recipe for our lunch. I mixed arugula in with couscous:

And then in a separate pan I mixed reconstituted mushrooms, a can of diced tomatoes, red pepper flakes, and garlic. Then I mixed that in with the couscous and topped it with chopped green onions and freshly grated Parmesan cheese. The photo is a little blurry because at this point I had a hungry husband not willing to wait for me to figure out my camera settings.

It was tasty. We also added Sriracha sauce, that hot sauce with the rooster on it that they have at Thai restaurants, because we both like spicy food.

Oh yeah, and I reconstituted mushrooms! The mushrooms came in our produce delivery dried in a little bag. It was a big deal for me to even realize that I needed to do something to them, but I couldn’t figure out what to do from The Joy of Cooking because I was looking for “re hydrating” under mushrooms. I finally found instructions because The Joy of Cooking has answers to everything, and it wasn’t complicated. I even strained the water after I was done with the mushrooms and used it to cook the couscous to give it more flavor! Smart, right? The Joy of Cooking told me to do that too.

It was another yummy meal that provided all three of us – Zach, me, and the boy – with some much needed “real” food. No radishes in this meal, but I have found a delicious solution so be excited…

And in beer news:

If you didn’t know we have a very classy kegerator in our kitchen. If “classy” and “kegerator” are not words you would commonly associate with one another, I’m right there with you. But, in an effort to make the best of the situation, I ordered Zach some vintage beer signs and installed a shelf for his tap handle display behind the kegerator. The result is a little beer bar right in our kitchen.

Leave a Reply

