32 weeks of mental and physical preparation.

As I approach my 32 week of pregnancy I thought I would do a list of “highlights.” Most of these are topics or events that I haven’t gotten in to any other posts and some I have talked about over and over again so remember that I am very pregnant and my brain is not the most organized part of my life. So here we go.

Since being pregnant:

  • I had my first “I-can-no-longer-reach-my-toes-with-enough-ease-to-paint-them” pedicure. My friend came with me and it was fabulous. 
  • I got a prenatal massage and it was also fabulous.
  • Zach and I have now babysat for two children – one at  5 months and one at 19 months – who were perfectly reasonable little creatures who slept happily for 90% of the time they stayed with us. In fact the 19-month-old told me “night-night” and started walking up the stairs to the baby’s room on her own. Somehow I  don’t think that parenting will be quite like this.
  • I – or my BFF or husband – have reorganized the kitchen, basement, office, sun porch/storage area, TV room, bedroom, baby’s room, and linen closet. No area is safe.
  • We have sold 13 items on various online forums, only had 1 item returned because I had thrown a key piece of it out in the reorganizing mania, and bought 2 golf clubs from various online forums (guess which one of us did this?)
  • I have read countless pregnancy and baby-related books, magazines, and articles including the oh-so-helpful Mommywood by Tori Spelling. (My mother-in-law thought I needed some balance in my reading selections.)
  • I have given my dog the command “stop pulling me, I’m pregnant” several times with little to no change to his behavior. (He has a harness so don’t worry about my safety.)
  • I have also given my dog the command “pull me up this last hill, I’m pregnant” which has a much higher success rate.
  • Zach and I went on a “babymoon” trip – otherwise known as the last trip you take before parenthood – to San Diego with two of my high school friends and their boyfriends.  (Don’t despair for us – I am totally excited for travel after parenthood as well. I plan on vacationing with the little guy as well as leaving him with either set of willing grandparents.)
  • I have progressed from gleefully calling my husband at work the first time I felt a kick and the first time I saw a kick, to pushing back on my belly and begging the little guy to stop kicking his mother so much. (He is rolling his knees back and forth under my ribcage as I write this.)
  • I will always remember the look Zach gave me when we heard our baby’s heartbeat for the first time, the delight I felt when I knew I was feeling a kick for the first time, and the awe I had at seeing our babe for the first time on the ultrasound.
  • I have written 102 posts on this blog about my pregnancy experience. (103 counting this one.)
  • I have had 3 complete and total meltdowns. One because of a TV plot line involving an infant left in a hot car, one because at 28 weeks I couldn’t fit into a pre-pregnancy dress, and one because I couldn’t get the footrest on the couch to come up. (Ask Zach if you really must know the accurate total of my crying fits.)
  • I bought a Father’s Day gift for my husband for the first time.
  • I have started holding my arms out for balance when I walk down stairs.
  • I joined a community supported agriculture group and have been actually planning and cooking meals weekly in an effort to use all our fresh produce. And my husband actually likes what I am cooking. (Last night we grilled pork chops and radishes and I made banana bread.)
  • I have made an effort to learn more about taking better photos in preparation of taking lots of the boy.
  • I have read the same book and sung the same song almost every night for the last couple of weeks in the hope that I will create a bedtime routine now that will magically lull our child to sleep once he’s on the outside.
  • I have gone upstairs to stand in the doorway of his room countless times just to look and to wait.

All this and I still know that part of me can never imagine what it is really going to be like.

3 thoughts on “32 weeks of mental and physical preparation.

  1. 1. I’m glad to see the extent to which my mother’s weird diction has colonized your references to “The Boy”.

    2. This post is funny. That’s like even better because you’re way better than most really pregnant women who are, you know, not funny at all and instead very crazy.

    3. I really can’t tell you how excited I am for you guys and for the baby and everything. It’s a weird feeling, just kind of unbelievable. I was thinking about how at your guys’ wedding after Leah talked I hopped on the mic quick and just tried to say that I didn’t think there was anyone better to have in the family now than you, and, relatedly, tonight I was thinking about how you’re going to make a really great mom. For me and Zach, babies-we-are-related-to has always been kind of a weird thing because our siblings were so much older, and distant and everything. For me anyway, it’s meant a lot to me to be able to look to you guys to learn and understand better these kind of big “real things” that you do in life; being around you and now your blog have really helped me understand weddings, marriage and married life in a very real, positive way that I didn’t quite get before, and I just wanted to say thank you for that. I’m really glad that when Marissa and I have kids I will be able to think of this blog and your future experiences for reference and reassurance. Anyway, now I’ve gone on so awkwardly long. I just wanted to say how happy I am for you guys, how excited and pumped I am for The Boy, how eager I am for the unveiling of the secret Name, how nice it is to think of the really awesome mom you’re going to be, and how much I’m looking forward to being an Uncle for you guys. Thanks, Mazel Tov, etc, etc.

Leave a Reply

