My nine-month blogging anniversary!

It is the month of anniversaries in our house. Today is my nine month blogging anniversary. Nine months seems like a significant anniversary given the main focus of my blog – being pregnant! And just like pregnancy, this will continue longer than nine months.

I’ve enjoyed my transition from being solely a blog stalker to a blog writer and a blog stalker. I started by reading blogs about running, cooking, and crafting and as my life started to change I found that some of those bloggers were also mothers or becoming mothers and incorporating parenting stories into their blogs.

I’m glad to have been able to share with family and friends the exciting details of preparing for a new baby and I am excited to continue sharing the details of our lives as things start to change around here. Any day now…

On that note, unless I have gone into labor suddenly in the last few moments, I am still pregnant. This is fine with me, for the most part, but I am sure I will feel differently after Friday. I have been trying to prepare myself all along for a pregnancy lasting at least a week longer than predicted so maybe I will be able to hold things together mentally from Saturday on – maybe.

This week I have been trying to nest, but have found that I am like a bird with a final twig and no place to put it. Everything is done! The room is ready, the stuff is purchased, the bag is packed, and the kitchen is cleaned up – every night. We went to Babies ‘R’ Us last weekend for the final items on my list and when I realized that I really did not need another sippy cup or bowls with lids in order to bring a newborn home from the hospital Zach gently guided me out of the store and back home.

I have been turning this restless nesting energy to cooking. I made two dinners last night because I had always wanted to try a Giada recipe for a roasted chicken, but we needed to eat sooner than it would be ready. I made the summer squash pasta again – this time Zach got to eat it too – and then when the chicken was ready we tested it and put the rest in the fridge. We all agreed it was tasty; even Watson was so taken with his small sample that he learned to open the trashcan to get at the chicken remnants. The dog learned to push the button on the trashcan with his nose and open the lid. Now what?! All the trashcans in our house have  lids so he can’t raid them and now he has bested me and trashcans everywhere. I chose to take it as a compliment on my excellent roasting ability.

I also wanted to try a zucchini bread recipe a friend had given me, but my mom thankfully informed me that I could just grate up the zucchini and freeze it for cooking later. My cooking obsession is also a freezing obsession because I guess I equate preparing for a newborn with preparing for a stay in a bomb shelter. I want to be ready to stay inside our house for at least a month straight. Why? I have no idea. I know take out food will still exist after we have a baby, but I just have no idea how to prepare for what will be happening any day now (seriously, please let it be any day now.)

Now that I think of it, I wonder if I could cook the rest of our fresh corn and then freeze the kernels…

3 thoughts on “My nine-month blogging anniversary!

  1. I’m praying for you, girl and starting to feel the same signs of desperation sink in. Any day now! Can’t wait to see pictures of your little boy. Good luck. Deep breaths. The way I look at it is it has to happen eventually. That baby can not stay in there forever! Just long enough to drive us a little nutty.

Leave a Reply

