Thinking of Dash while he naps.

One year ago today…

I was walking along with Zach on the golf course with a stomach too large for maternity tops and a grimace that said I was ready to have my body back to myself.

One year later…

My body is back to supporting life for one, but this guy has taken hold of my heart and my mind in a way I could never have imagined. He has given our lives a fullness and a longing all at once. Our life with Dash feels complete in a way it never did before. And it feels fleeting and fragile in a way that makes me long for time with him even as I spend each day with him. I cherish the daily moments with him and look forward to all the future time with him while hoping that the future doesn’t arrive too fast.

With a few weeks left in his first year I am thankful for all the moments; the challenges and the joys were exactly what I needed, but never what I would have designed. I’m thankful that choosing this boy wasn’t up to me and forever grateful that he is our son.

Leave a Reply

